Driver's License Suspension and Reinstatement in Minnesota
Minneapolis DUI attorney helping you keep your license since 1986
At Jeff T. Ohara, Attorney at Law, PC, we know how important keeping your license is to your job, your family and your community. If you have been charged with a driving under the influence (DUI) or operating while intoxicated (OWI) offense, we want to stand beside you and advocate for your rights. For more than 20 years, we have successfully represented individuals charged with drunk driving.
Understanding license suspension and driving with a suspended license
Minnesota law takes DUI offenses seriously. Even before you are given a Breathalyzer® test to measure the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream, you stand a chance of losing your license. Under Minnesota's Implied Consent Law, all Minnesota-licensed drivers have already given their consent to submit to a breath test if pulled over for drunk driving. Should you refuse, you receive six points against your driving record and your license will be suspended for a whole year.
If you have a repeat offense within seven years and you refuse the test again, you receive six points against your record and you lose your license for two years.
If you do submit to the test and a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or more results, the officer destroys your license on the spot and you receive a paper permit to drive until your case is heard in court.
Driving with a suspended license in Minnesota is considered a misdemeanor. If this is your first offense, you could be subject to up to 93 days in jail or a fine up to $500 or both. Most courts order a fine with no jail time. If this is a repeat offense, you could face up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
Sometimes you may feel that you are caught between a rock and hard place: How can you get to work on a suspended license if no public transportation is available? A decision could lead to a charge of driving with a suspended license and a court appearance. DUI lawyer Jeffrey O'Hara has spent more than 20 years defending people like you who have been forced to make tough decisions and end up on the wrong side of the law.
DUI penalties are harsh. When combined with a more serious offense, for instance reckless driving, especially where an accident occurs, injuring another person, stiff felony penalties may apply.
Understanding license reinstatement
If your license has been revoked or suspended, reinstatement may be possible through Minnesota's Driver's License Appeal Division. There is a set of requirements that must be satisfied:
- Proof of a clean alcohol evaluation
- Proof of no alcohol usage for at least six months, although in some cases a full year is required
- Proof of attendance at substance abuse support groups, such as Alcoholics Anonymous
- Submission of letters from the community attesting to your change in lifestyle as a result of abstinence from alcohol
- Demonstration of your need to drive
We work with you to get your life back on track and to get your license back. Fees to the state apply and vary based on your offense:
- General reinstatement: $125
- Reinstatement following a drug crime: $250
- Reinstatement for minor in possession: $250
Know your rights and let us advocate for them
If you have been charged with drunk driving and your license is suspended, call Jeff T. Ohara, Attorney at Law, PC in Minneapolis at (612) 605-6020 or contact us online. Your initial consultation is free.