Contact us
Contact us

Close X

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Committed to Legal Excellence

FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION(612) 605-6020

Rape

Rape in Minneapollis

Offering skilled defense against a charge of rape

A rape charge in Minneapollis is defined broadly as coercing an individual to engage in any sexual act, and specifically, as forcing sexual intercourse.

Two types of Minneapolis rape charges are covered in the U.S. Criminal Code: sexual abuse and aggravated sexual abuse. Sexual abuse includes forcing sexual activity by use of threats or other fear tactics. Aggravated sexual abuse is forcing sexual acts physically, through threats of death, injury, or kidnapping, or with substances that impair the victim.

Statutory rape in Minneapollis

Statutory rape describes sexual relations when one participant is too young to legally consent. Physical force or threat need not be used — Minneapolis statutory rape charges presume coercion because a minor is legally incapable of giving sexual consent.

Under Minnesota law, first-degree criminal sexual conduct involves someone under age 13 and carries a penalty of up to life in prison. Third-degree criminal sexual conduct involves someone between age 13 and 16 and carries a penalty of up to 15 years in prison.

Minneapolis spousal rape

Spousal rape (or marital rape) is non-consensual sex in which the perpetrator is the victim’s spouse. In many states, the law considers marital rape as likely to be part of an abusive relationship. The victim’s trauma compounds the effect of other abusive acts, and the rape is often a repeated occurrence.

Penalties

The penalties for various forms of rape can be severe. Minnesota law defines four degrees of rape charges, with first degree being the most serious.

Minnesota law mandates that criminal sexual conduct in the first degree is a felony punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. First degree criminal sexual conduct applies when:

  • The victim is under 13 years of age
  • The perpetrator is a member of the same household as the victim
  • The perpetrator is in a position of authority over the victim
  • The perpetrator is armed with a weapon
  • There is personal injury to the victim

Criminal sexual conduct in the second and third degrees are felonies punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years. If you live in Minnesota, including Minneapollis, rape laws define fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct as a misdemeanor punishable by up to two years.

Defending against rape charges

An effective rape defense in Minneapollis demands skilled legal support. Contact us right away for legal advice and assistance in preparing your defense. No matter how serious the charges, we can help. For a free consultation with a skilled sex crime attorney, call Jeff T. Ohara, Attorney at Law, PC at 616-235-2000 or contact us online.